Situated opposite the Tuileries gardens at 228 rue de Rivoli (1st), since 1835, Le Meurice was Paris’s first palace intended to welcome guests from Britain. Its reputation is founded on its glorious past, where it was both a “hotelfor kings” and somewhere that had all the eccentricities of the painter Salvador Dalí.
In 2007, the hotel was renovated to meet the expectations of international clientele. The salons of the palace have regained their original splendour, the main entrance of the hotel has been moved torue de Rivoli and a monumental fresco now covers the glass roof of the restaurant Le Dalí. This work was carriedout by Ara Starck, daughter of the French designer Philippe Starck who collaborated on the hotel renovation project.
The atmosphere of the 160 bedrooms, of which 45 are suites, was entrusted to the interior decorator Charles Jouffre with the guiding principle of "changing everything and changing nothing". This decor evokes aprivate 18th-century residence or apartment in the Empire style with a touch of glamour.
Its two-star restaurant Le Meurice
In addition to the €10minvested in the refurbishment of guest rooms and corridors, the hotel is modernizing its kitchens and sprucing upits reception rooms. The finest suite, La Belle Etoile, on the seventh floor has a private terrace with a unique view of the capital.
Le Meurice is also renowned for its bar, ‘Le 228’ with its house cocktails, and its two stars in the Michelin Guide, obtained in 2016 for the Le Meurice restaurant, thanks to its chef Alain Ducasse.
The Spa Valmont offers body treatments, make-up sessions and for relaxation there is a Jacuzzi, spa and steam room.
In 2008, the palace created the Prix Meurice for contemporary art which is awarded to an up-and-coming French artist. Directed by Franka Holtmann, Le Meurice is a member of the Dorchester Collection, like The Plaza Athénée, both palaces being the property of the Sultan of Brunei.