Couvent de la Madeleine de Traisnel

100 rue de Charonne - 75011 Paris

Bastille - 11e Arrondissement

What's on?

Visits from June to September (except for August)


Built in 1664 over 42 hectares, the Couvent de la Madeleine de Traisnel is primarily a boarding school for the upper class. In 1790, it became a weaving workshop, and then, in 1871, an artists' workshop, before becoming a condominium in 1997. This historic building is mentioned frequently in the works of two great writers, Alexandre Dumas and Patrick Süskind. A freestone building, the convent expresses the simplicity and rigor of classical buildings to religious vocation. During the visit, discover the old church tower(built in 1717) and we admire, in the passage, a staircase with balusters of the seventeenth century. The convent was rebuilt in the seventeenth by the famous French architect Jean-Sylvain Cartaud, to whom we owe the castle of Montmorency (in the Val-d'Oise).

Entrance fees and modalities

Independent tour

Visits are free and not guided. The welcome desk is on the ground floor of the building at 100 rue de Charonne, close to Monsieur Moreau, in the "5 Bouddha" shop. Presentation of ID is required.


Free for all visitors.

Closing times

Monday, Sunday

Opening times

Visiting times: 3pm-7pm.

Voir la carte

Couvent de la Madeleine de Traisnel

100 rue de Charonne
75011 Paris
Tel.. +33 (0) 1 43 48 28 25

  • Subway - Charonne
  • Bus - 46, 56, 76

Offer adapted to disabled visitors

  • Physical Physical

Monument in the same district: Bastille

Monument in the same arrondissement: 11th arrondissement

Monument in Paris and in the Paris Region: Monument

Book your activity

see more offers